Nadine Shah, Peggy Gou and IDLES among AIM Awards winners

Written by frtyfve Team

The annual AIM music awards celebrate an exciting year for independent music

The AIM Independent Music Awards 2018 took place last night, celebrating an exciting year for independent music. Presented by BBC Radio 1’s MistaJam and HQ’s Sharon Carpenter, the annual awards recognised musical achievement in the independent music community.

Guests were treated to a stellar performance from Nadine Shah - who also picked up the prize for Best Album. In her acceptance speech, Shah discussed the political themes on her album, condemning the rise of nationalism. She also thanked her label for encouraging her to “be louder, to say more”.

Ninja Tune also enjoyed a big night, picking up Independent Label of the Year, before their artist Peggy Gou won Independent Track of the Year, for her song ‘It Makes You Forget (Itgehane)’. After being nominated for four awards and entering the UK albums chart at number 2 this week, IDLES claimed the Hardest Working Artist award.

Other big indie music winners on the night included SOPHIE, who won the Innovator Award and Jorja Smith, who was chosen as UK Breakthrough of the Year. Check out the full list of award winners below:

Independent Album of the Year - in association with Ingrooves

Nadine Shah - Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])

Independent Track of the Year - in association with Spotify

Peggy Gou - It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)

Best Sophomore Release - in association with Radio X

Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears (Transgressive)

UK Breakthrough of the Year - in association with YouTube

Jorja Smith (FAMM)

International Breakthrough of the Year - in association with Deezer

Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)

Best Live Act - in association with Songkick

Erasure (Mute Records)

Hardest Working Group or Artist

IDLES (Partisan Records)

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)

Tracey Thorn

Pioneer Award


Innovator Award (in association with Fuga)


Best Creative Packaging - in association with MCPS

Black Sabbath - The Ten Year War (BMG)

Independent Label of the Year - in association with Believe

Ninja Tune

Best Small Label - in association with Awesome Merchandise

Black Acre Records

Indie Champion Award - in association with [PIAS]

Femi Adeyemi - Founder of NTS Radio

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act

Dave (Dave)

Independent Video of the Year - in association with Vevo

Novo Amor - Birthplace (AllPoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy

frtyfve is powered by Instrumental. Their leading A&R music scouting platform uses Spotify data and applied AI processes to unearth the fastest growing artists and tracks. To find out how the tool can help power your scouting efforts, click the banner below to request a demo.

Powered by talentAI